Email Notification

20120225-194210.jpg
And now for that part of the show where Makergoddess asks you, dear readers and more experienced bloggers, dumb newbie questions. Ok, so maybe my questions aren’t exactly dumb, but given my deity status one would think I already know the answer. My omnipotence, sadly, does seem to have limitations.

This week’s question centers on email notifications of posts and comment threads. I really like that I get notified when one of the bloggers I follow makes a new post. When one has ADD a reminder of this kind helps immensely!

I, like many of you, have a demanding day job and don’t have time to search ten different sites checking for new posts only to find nothing new added at the time I am ready to read. So I select follow on these blogs and get notified when new posts are added.

WordPress has this wonderful program that lets one see the number of views to your website each day, pinpointing down to the number of times individual posts are viewed even. Have you seen this feature? I get excited when I see the number of views to my site reach over 10 for a given day, and quite naturally get a little down when there are only two views, or none at all, in a single day.

This is my question, for those of you still reading past my babblings, does viewing the new post in the email notification count on this daily totting up of views?

I know, dumb question, but I don’t want to rob someone the pleasure of seeing their view statistics going up by only reading their new post in my email, so I am asking. Your insight is most appreciated!

“So long and thanks for all the fish!” 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TheOthers1
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 21:19:35

    When you read a post via email, I don’t think it shows on someone’s stats because you’re not coming directly to the site.

    I’m not a fan of receiving tons of emails so I read all my subs under the read tab. That’s just easier and I don’t clutter my email. I don’t like to read long posts via email. I am a chronic email checker though (that’s a blog topic brewing in my mind). 🙂

    Reply

  2. makergoddess
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 22:40:17

    Thanks for letting me know!

    I tried that just now from the website. It wasn’t as organized as it is in my email inbox. I have a separate email address just for writing stuff and wordpress new post notifications goes there.

    I read most of the email notification of posts from my phone. I noticed that I can go to the blogger’s website from the email by clicking on “see all comments”. I think I will do that with every email notification so they know I stopped by. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

