My Secret Love

Tonight I thought I’d try my hand at poetry. I haven’t written other than Acrostic poetry and couplets, as a model for my second graders, in more than twenty years. I’m a bit rusty. Critiques welcome. 🙂

My Secret Love

I want to write,
I just can’t focus.
I need to write,
I’m just so tired.

I love to write,
I am just so distracted.
I need to write,
There’s just too much noise.

I want to write,
Maybe tomorrow.

Tomorrow the words
Will flow from my fingers
As effortlessly as a stream
Carving her new bank
In the soft earth.

Tonight I will dream,
New worlds, new characters.
Tonight my muse will visit, and
Dance about in the twilight of my mind.
She will leave a vision
That will spark the words.

Tomorrow I can focus,
I won’t be too tired.
Tomorrow there’ll not be any distractions,
The noise will cease.

Tomorrow I will write!

20120228-200639.jpg

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TheOthers1
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 21:24:48

    Tomorrow! It’ll happen.

    That puppy is adorable!!! 🙂

    Reply

    • makergoddess
      Feb 29, 2012 @ 06:02:55

      That’s our ‘middle’ dog when she was a puppy. Being a Boston Terrier, albeit brown and white rather than black and white, she was only supposed to grow to about 18 lbs. Full grown she is now 37 lbs! 😮

      Reply

Leave a Reply

