They Come in Threes

“I can’t do my homework,” my oldest told me about two or three weeks ago after school.

“Why?” I asked as I placed my school bag by the couch.

“My net book is broken.”

“How do you mean, broken?”

“I don’t think it’s supposed to sound like a helicopter winding up for take off.”

My shoulders slumped. I brought my hands to my face and shook off the unpleasantness I knew would come. “Let me see it.”

He got his net book and sat beside me on the couch, then carefully opened it and turned it on. The whine from the hard drive told me there was no hope, I didn’t need to look at the screen so maliciously displaying only the manufacture’s logo.

The beast was dead. Even our resident Tron God was unable to revive it. Thank goodness I taught the boy how to save files to a USB drive. The loss of the hard drive wasn’t as devastating as it could have been.

Shopping for a new laptop the following weekend was an eye stabbing, hair pulling, painful experience. The child wanted the first laptop he looked at. His father and I tried to show him many selections. For more than an hour we looked, compared, and debated the different models currently available.

Our youngest didn’t seem bothered by the time spent. Each laptop held a new game or screen feature for him to explore.

Finally the definitive choice was made and we bought a new laptop. One large purchase was no big deal, right? Wrong!

Last week, each day had moved along smoothly, effortlessly, even with the stress of sending home progress reports to parents. Friday I had to attend a training and on the way back my marvelous week came to a crashing halt. See The Hazards of Toys for the full story of the over priced car slippers.

“Come get me please,” my husband said after I answered my cell phone. “The truck just died.”

I looked at my watch. I had just finished my breakfast and was about to start my routines for getting ready for work. “I’ll be there in a few minutes,” I said and got dressed quickly.

The best part of my husband’s bad news was that his truck had died in a parking space where he had driven our boys to catch the school bus not too far from our house. It could stay there the whole day while we toiled at our respective jobs.

After the large purchase of a new laptop last month and the pair of performance tires last week, now we are anticipating a high repair bill on the truck.

My mother always says woes come in threes. In today’s economy, large, unavoidable outlays of money counts as a woe, don’t you think?

Mondays can come in threes as well I found out this week. Here’s hoping it is only three and tomorrow can finally be tomorrow, not another Monday!

20120229-224054.jpg

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Naomi Baltuck
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 23:08:53

    So sorry! Let’s hope that three is your unlucky number, and then your luck will change.

    Reply

    • makergoddess
      Mar 01, 2012 @ 05:25:23

      That has seemed to have been the trend, in sets of three, so it should be good now, for a little while anyway. We’ll find out today how heavy that third shoe is going to fall.

      Reply

  2. TheOthers1
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 08:52:38

    Bummer!! I hope things settle down for you!

    Reply

    • makergoddess
      Mar 01, 2012 @ 20:13:35

      I thought it just might, until the power cut this evening. LOL It didn’t last long though, so we’re good now. 🙂

      Reply

      • TheOthers1
        Mar 01, 2012 @ 20:26:30

        I’m sympathetic. I’m staying at my mom’s for the week and the power just went out in my room (just my room). Unfortunately, it’s not coming back on.

Leave a Reply

