Spring Break

Tuesday, eight-thirty in the morning: a time I would normally be in the classroom collecting homework. But not today. It is the second day of Spring Break.

The dew drips off the branches of the trees when the very light, almost nonexistent breeze nudges by them in this state of only two seasons: hot and hotter. The grass is still damp with its blanket of dew at this early hour. The temperature is a mere seventy degrees as I venture into the backyard.

Sitting on the gazebo this morning I can hear birds waking and greeting the day with their songs as the sun makes it trek upwards toward its noon time height.

In the distance I can hear the sounds of rushing commuters and delivery trucks speed along the highway in the never ending weekday rut of getting to work. I smile, happy to not be among them today; it is Spring Break!

I came outside to escape the noise of teenage boys waking up and getting their breakfast. But, they have found me. I knew it wouldn’t last long, it couldn’t. Much like this very pleasant weather must also come to an end: in a few hours time it will be unbearably hot and humid. Still the solitude was nice while it lasted.

I must go back inside now and begin my job as mom, one that never affords vacation time. Still, this being my only job for the week puts a smile on my face as I start a load of laundry, dodging barking dogs and joyously screaming boys.

20120320-091645.jpg

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TheOthers1
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 10:47:18

    Aw, spring break. I already miss mine and it was two weeks ago. I really hope you enjoy your time off. Even with the teenagers and the dogs, I hope it’s restful and rejuvenating. 🙂

    Reply

    • makergoddess
      Mar 20, 2012 @ 10:55:58

      Thanks CC! 🙂
      I intend to enjoy as much of this down time as possible. It will inevitably go by much too fast for my liking I’m sure. And I, too, will be missing it when it’s gone.
      Are we counting down to the summer break yet!? 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

