What An Honor

Once again the gracious editors at The Purple Pros, the official newsletter of the Southeastern Writer’s Association have bestowed upon me the honor of publishing my article in their April edition.

Though the euphoria didn’t last as long as last time, I found out on April 1st with the delivery of the newsletter to my email inbox, my heart still swelled with the pride in a job well done.

My mother was very pleased, but wanted to know why these people weren’t paying me for my work. “One step at a time,” I told her. I’m getting my name out there first. Even if the newsletter has only three other subscribers, that’s three other people reading my work that hadn’t heard of me previously. Each of those readers know other people and maybe, just maybe, they might show the newsletter to the people they know and one of those people may be some bigwig in some publishing company and that bigwig will see my article and want to publish me. Hey, a girl can dream, right?

Of course I had to show it to people I know. How could I not? Most were excited for me, again, but one had an idea I thought was very interesting. One of my friends suggested that instead of grabbing a clip art next time, let him do up an illustration. He’s a fantastic artist, by hobby, so I thought, “Sure, why not. Maybe he could get a name for himself in the literary world as an illustrator.” It could happen.

Two down, two more monthly newsletters to go before the annual SWA conference in Georgia. I live in hope that I will be able to get published in those editions as well and when I meet other writers there they will already know of my work.

Networking is good. I am a writer. I will be an author! πŸ™‚

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TheOthers1
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 17:56:33

    Woot. One step closer to realizing a dream. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • makergoddess
      Apr 02, 2012 @ 20:04:11

      Indeed, one step closer! πŸ™‚ One step at a time is all we can take. There’s no need to eat the elephant all in one bite, right? πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Naomi Baltuck
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 18:45:48

    Hey, that’s great! And it is really cool that you have an illustrator waiting in the wings. Very nice!

    Reply

    • makergoddess
      Apr 02, 2012 @ 20:09:48

      He’s already illustrating a children’s read aloud book to help teachers teach narrative writing to elementary grades for me. It is so nice to have someone to work with in this solitary profession. πŸ™‚

      I haven’t asked him to do the book cover for any of my novels yet. I’ll ease into that. One step at a time. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

