Mother Knows Best

20120626-145049.jpgMothers are amazing! I don’t say that just because I am one, angling for a fabulous Mother’s Day, but rather because I have one – an amazing mother that is.

Recently I was hard at work on an article and decided to wait to title it until after it was finished. I don’t usually do this. I typically start with a title and then write the article to it, much like school children write to a prompt. This time I followed the whisperings of my muse and allowed her to move my fingers along the keyboard in beautiful, moving prose, retelling my amazing experience. “The title will be easy enough to come up with later,” I assured myself.

Boy did I miss the mark on that! The article was about the incredible experience I had at my recently attended first ever writers conference. The campus was so incredibly picturesque – almost a step back in time to the deep south before the Civil War – the staff were so welcoming and friendly, and the attendees were like old friends you never met before. The inspirational words seemed to flow nonstop from my fingertips. When I was finished I had nearly 1,600 words. Oops! About 100 too many for the publication where I planned to be submit my article. No big deal, it was a good article, I just needed to make it better. The title can come later.

After a couple of days of editing and asking a couple of people nearest me to read it over I had my article down to 1,499 words, just below my submission limit – one word below in fact. “This is so much better!” I applauded myself. There was just something out of place, something like a boulder in the stream preventing smooth passage, but I couldn’t see it. My last stop on making my masterpiece perfection was at my octogenarian neighbor’s house. A sometimes crass elderly gentleman who holds no punches and never bites his tongue, though most of the time he is the kind you’d like to have for a grandfather, this neighbor is the one you go to when you truly want to hear the truth. He helped me see the disjointed sentences and now my prose flowed smoothly unimpeded.

Okay, now for the title. Um…hmm…yeah…the title. “Houston, we we have a problem!” I couldn’t think of a title, well, not one I liked anyway. I had three ideas but none of them really grabbed me. No problem, I’ll just query those around me. I asked about half a dozen people, including my two teenaged sons and a teacher friend who professes to hate writing. All had to suffer through either reading my article or having it read to them by yours truly. Some gave suggestions, others just passed judgment on the title offerings. Still I didn’t have what I thought was an eye grabbing title. Nothing that anyone came up with I felt truly captured the essence of my article while capturing the reader’s interest to read on. The most beautifully written prose is still just pixel fodder if no one is enticed to read it.

The deadline looming ever nearer, I knew I had to come up with something. So, I called my mom. It was noisy at her house when she answered, and I thought I had caught her at a bad time. “Not at all, what do you need, sugar,” she drawled in her wonderful southern accent. I told her my dilemma and asked if I could read the article to her. The grandkids were giving her and my dad quite a run for their money at the time so, she asked that I just summarize the article to her – which I did, trying to make sure I hit all the important key points as quickly as possible.

Quicker than a wink this incredibly intelligent, soft spoken, mild-mannered woman whom I am privileged to call my mother came up with the PERFECT title for my article. What took me days of anguish, she spouted out in mere seconds seemingly without thought or even the slightest mental synaptic strain. MY mother is truly amazing.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TheOthers1
    Jun 26, 2012 @ 16:12:58

    Long time no see. I love my mom for her candor and ability to cut to the chase, but sometimes she can be tooooo… opinionated. Still, I appreciate her.

    Reply

    • makergoddess
      Jun 26, 2012 @ 16:53:38

      Yes, I have been absent far too long. I am working on correcting that, though I do not believe I will be back up to daily postings as I strove to be able to accomplish when I started out.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a great comment!

      Reply

  2. Naomi Baltuck
    Jun 26, 2012 @ 20:02:00

    You’re so fortunate!

    Reply

    • makergoddess
      Jun 26, 2012 @ 20:18:58

      Yes I am very fortunate! We may have had a rocky relationship when I was young, as all moms and daughters do through the teen years, my mom is my number one role model and has been since the day I got married and started my own family.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a great comment! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

