Blow Your Own Horn

I don’t know if this is a problem suffered by many writers, but I know I find it difficult to tout my achievements. Okay, except when I tell people I am a fantastic cook. I’ve spent too many years in the kitchen to not be proud of my culinary skills. But writing is different. I’m still pleasantly surprised when someone likes something I’ve written.

A writer friend told me that the only reason he’s received so many awards for his writing is because others have submitted his work for him. He would never think his own creations worthy of any such accolade, at least not to be able to submit the pieces himself. I have these same sentiments about my own writing. But the truth is, unlike my writer friend who has connections in the right places, if I don’t tell people about my prose, no one else will.

It has been an amazing year for me. I have been published in the Southeastern Writers Association Newsletter so many months, the first being this past March, the only time I’ve actually shared the good news on this blog. I know I need to start sharing when my article gets published.

And I will.

Starting with this month. I’d like to announce the fantastic news that I have once again been published in the Southeastern Writers Association December edition newsletter.

December edition of Southeastern Writers Association newsletter

Direct link to my article

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Naomi Baltuck
    Dec 04, 2012 @ 23:44:11

    Congratulations!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

